Posted on

Real (Wo)Men Appreciate Real Women

When I see your face
There’s not a thing that I would change
Cause you’re amazing
Just the way you are
And when you smile,
The whole world stops and stares for awhile
Cause girl you’re amazing
Just the way you are

Bruno Mars

People, male and female, are often surprised at how I talk about women and my attraction to them. Women are amazing. I love them (well, most of them). I love the way they smell. I love the way they feel. I love the way they walk. I love the way they get ready to go out. I love the way they look when they’re asleep. I love the way their bodies feel  pressed against mine. I love to see them dressed up in heels. I love to see them wear just a T-Shirt.

Women are amazing.

God was on his game when he created us. When he created our bodies. When he created our curves. When he created our voices. I will forever be grateful for his most intrinsically designed creatures: women. One of my ex-girlfriends had the most incredible body. I swear I felt so lucky that it was all mine. We weren’t allowed to wear clothes in the house. Mostly for my benefit. I just liked looking at her. I’d watch her shower, I’d watch her lotion, I’d watch her pour a glass of water. I just…I still smile to myself thinking about her. I’m happy she allowed me to photograph her once. I still peak at that contact sheet from time to time.

Some women don’t realize that their bodies are beautiful. It’s not always about objectification. Though I do have a difficult time when I’m expected to side with the ladies when it comes to strippers and distasteful music videos (I can’t! I love to look at ’em too!). But really, it’s not always about that. Some of us need to realize just how beautiful our bodies are. The curve of our silhouettes, the roundness of our butts, the width of our hips, the fullness of our lips, the shape of our breasts, the softness of our skin, the look of our legs in heels- beautiful. And it breaks my heart that some of us don’t see that! How can you not!? LOOK AT YOURSELF! YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL!

I need to just go around shaking y’all, because it’s incredible that some of y’all just can’t see it! Do me this favor.

1) Take a shower and wash the make-up off of your face

2) Lotion every single part of your body, take your time.

3) Feel the curves, feel the softness, feel the shapes.

4) Find your favorite pair of heels, put them on.

5) Put on your favorite bra and panties, I don’t care if they match (another post for another time.)

6) Stand in front of the mirror and look at yourself.

7)  Look at each part of your body, start at your pretty toes, go up to your ankles, your strong calves, your thighs, your hips, your
bikini region, your tummy, touch your stretch marks (I love those), touch your cellulite (we all have it, and I love that, too), grab your breasts (they’re not too small, or too big, or too whatever, they’re perfect!), look at your smile, look at your eyes. LOOK AT YOURSELF!!!!

8)  Optional: Go ahead and seduce yourself, a little “me time” never hurt anyone….not that I know of.

Ladies, you are gorgeous. Flaws and all. And if you are with someone who makes you feel less than?? Leave them! They are not worth your self-esteem, they are not worth doubting yourself and your beauty. You are an amazing woman; each scar, each mole, each dimple, each inch of you. BEAUTIFUL! You might not be where you would like to be, but that doesn’t make you any less beautiful. If the person you are with doesn’t make you feel this way, there is a problem. If you are settling for a person who makes you feel any way other than beautiful, there is a problem. You are beautiful! Know this. Once you believe this, you’ll exude that.

Listen, I’m not standing on some pretty-girl pedestal. I’m not perfect. But I love every part of me. Sure I’m not the ideal me, but shit, I’m me. And if I may say so, I’m a bad motherf….I’ll shut my mouth. I wasn’t always this comfortable in my skin, but I am now. All 6′ of me. All fifty-‘leven pounds of me. Each stretch mark and each jiggle of my ass when I walk. I wear it all proudly. I am a woman. And I am beautiful. You are too. Nothing makes me happier than to run her a bubble bath, lather her with soap, rinse her off, dry her,  rub her down in oil and make her feel as beautiful as I think she is. Loving a woman is easy. And making love to one is an indescribable experience.

And for the fellas reading this, if you have a women in your life- remind her. It’s easy for us to get caught up in the trash that the media perpetuates. It’s the media’s job to break us a little bit, if our hair isn’t right, we’ll spend money on their product to fix it, if we’re too fat, we’ll join their gym, if our clothes suck we’ll buy theirs. Don’t let us get caught up in that. And don’t perpetuate that, either. Tell your girl she’s beautiful, kiss her insecure spots, make love with the lights on and tell her she’s gorgeous. And if you don’t have a girl? Take notes.

Real men appreciate real women.

And I love you all.

If you need to hear it, I’m alllllways here. *grin*

8 responses to “Real (Wo)Men Appreciate Real Women

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Real (Wo)Men Appreciate Real Women « My Adventures with Her -- Topsy.com

  2. I Love It! I relate to every sentence, every word, every character! God truly outdid himself when he created us! This is a very moving post, and I must say “she” enjoyed me reading as well so “me time” will follow this comment ;^). I enjoy your passion when you write and I hope you feel the same when you read my writings. Love and Progress- Mrs. Boss Z

  3. I absolutely love the concept. It pushes a woman’s power up another notch. It reminds her of her beauty and its worth. I LOVE IT!

  4. DtOUr2010

    Bravo, bravo…But u had me up until …”And if you are with someone who makes you feel less than?? Leave them! They are not worth your self-esteem, they are not worth doubting yourself and your beauty. ” You see me I know 4 a fact no 1 can make u feel any type of way! Its your thinking that creates your feelings & emotions! I dnt think that part is healthy for a woman who wants 2 truly know she is beautiful in every way! Because like the media, you just made their “feeling of beauty” dependent on their significant other. The doubt u mentioned is really Self-Doubt…which comes from thought of self! No1 else…! You shouldnt promote self esteem because truly there is no such thing! Jus another marketing tool 2 generate dollars! Promote self love as you were in this blog until I reached this point! I agree with everything else you said. I spend my days flirting wit women jus 2 see a smile, hear a laugh or jus receive a nice response…a response that matches their beauty! And they think Im tryna holla or wateva! If more women were secure within themselves the world would be a much better & safer place! lol!

  5. msbyepoleher ⋅

    @ DTour

    I understand where you’re coming from, but personally having escaped an extremely unhealthy relationship, it’s beyond possible for someone to begin to chip away at your self-esteem and the way you see yourself. I’m not encouraging women to depend on their significant other for their value, but no women should settle for a partner who makes them feel less than their worth. You’re right, someone only has the power that you give them. But that doesn’t make it any less damaging if the person you love doesn’t acknowledge you or empower you. It doesn’t make it any less damaging if you’re already self-conscious, and your partner makes you feel worse. In a healthy relationship, your partner should build you up, not tear you down. And essentially, that’s what I’m saying. If you’re in an unhealthy situation, if you don’t feel appreciated or valued, if your partner makes you feel bad about yourself, you can do better and you deserve better. And that goes for everyone, male or female. Your partner should build you up, and not tear you down- in all aspects.

    Self-love and self-esteem are one in the same. Self-esteem is nothing more than being comfortable in your own skin, loving yourself and appreciating yourself. Self-esteem is necessary, in everyone, but especially in these women who don’t believe in their own beauty, who don’t believe they are deserving of love. Self-love and self-esteem are not that different in my opinion. Self-love, self-esteem, whatever you want to call it, it’s the same idea, and if more women possessed these things they would be more secure.

    Thanks for commenting 🙂

  6. Ohhhhhhhhhhhh I felt sexy just reading that. You are blessed to have found the real secret to sexy. If you don’t think you are sexy then it is very hard to sell to someone else. But the most important person that should believe it…………..should be you.

    And the suggestion that you allow your partner to oil you down. What other way to stay in your partner’s mind as special than to allow them to get to know your every curve and your every smell. No one else has that but you! When you’re gone, they’ll have so much more to recall to memory and miss about you.

    Keep up the great work girl. Love ya’!!
    ~Sha’

  7. ThePrettyMD ⋅

    Loved it!!! Every word of it!

  8. paunice savage ⋅

    This is a pretty article!.. Where I only like bones in my fish…I thankU for reminding all women to love honor an respect who we are! Very important! Yes we are beautiful… Hava pretty weekend Ladies… #WeSoCute!

Leave a Reply

